Contact Button

Email Updates


Shuster Introduces Fallen Heroes of 9/11 Act

Legislation will Honor the Fallen with the Congressional Gold Medal

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman Bill Shuster introduced the “Fallen Heroes of 9/11 Act;” legislation that would secure a Congressional Gold Medal for each memorial site to pay tribute and honor the heroic men and women who lost their lives that day.

“The tragic deaths at the World Trade Center, the Pentagon and in rural Pennsylvania on September 11th have forever changed our nation,” Shuster said. “The attacks took the lives of police, firemen, first responders and regular working Americans.  Each and every one of them should be remembered.”

Shuster’s legislation would secure a Congressional Gold Medal for each memorial site to collectively honor the lives lost at each location.  In doing so, the “Fallen Heroes of 9/11 Act” will honor the police officers, emergency workers, Port Authority workers of New York and New Jersey as well as the employees of local and United States government who took heroic action to evacuate the Pentagon and the passengers and crew who thwarted the terrorists who hijacked Flight 93.  

Along with these brave Americans, each Gold Medal will pay tribute to the civilians who lost their lives in the attacks and honor the hundreds of untold stories of heroism and sacrifice that took place that day.

Gordon Felt, president, Families of Flight 93 said, "We are deeply grateful to Representative Bill Shuster for introducing the House version of the Fallen Heroes Act. Working closely with the Flight 93 families for nearly ten years, Congressman Shuster has been a tireless leader in the effort to enact legislation honoring the heroes of Flight 93 with a Congressional Gold Medal. Whether it is advocating for a Congressional Gold Medal or working to secure federal funds for the Flight 93 National Memorial, the Congressman has been a champion in ensuring that the nation forever honors the sacrifices made by our loved ones on September 11, 2001."

List of Original Cosponsors of the “Fallen Heroes of 9/11 Act:”

Rep. Jason Altmire (PA-04); Rep. Steve Austria (OH-7); Rep. Lou Barletta (PA-11); Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (MD-6); Rep. Robert Brady (PA-1); Rep. Donna Christensen (USVI); Rep. Mark Critz (PA-12); Rep. Mike Doyle (PA-14); Rep Chaka Fattah (PA-2); Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick (PA-8); Rep. Jim Gerlach (PA-6); Rep. Michael Grimm (NY-13); Rep. Joe Heck (NV-3); Rep. Tim Holden (PA-17); Rep. Mike Kelly (PA-3); Rep. Tom Marino (PA-10); Rep. Pat Meehan (PA-7); Rep. Tim Murphy (PA-18); Rep. Joe Pitts (PA-16); Rep. Todd Platts (PA-19); Rep. Denis Ross (FL-12); Rep. Allyson Schwartz (PA-13); Rep. John Sullivan (OK-01); Rep. Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (PA-5); Rep. Frank Wolf (VA-10).